Dear God, Again?!?

I don’t get it. And I can’t get my thoughts in a logical order tonight. So here’s my rant:

Who would target a place that helps disabled people?

Of course there are two statements I am sure to hear/read if I ask that question.

1. The shooters were mentally ill.
2. Guns don’t kill people. People kill people. And people are going to get guns anyway, so why limit gun ownership?

Fine. If it makes the streets so much safer if everybody and their blind uncle owns a gun, where were the heroes today? Why did those shooters feel empowered to go kill 14 people at a time? Why am I to be ok with these headlines; sigh, it’s just another day.

Yes, I know the police then killed two suspects.

But why did it have to come down to another mass shooting? Why do people feel the need to go shoot at hoardes of people? Why aren’t we trying to deal with the root of the problem?

Oh wait, that involves health care.

Seriously. Reasonable health care for everyone is supposed to be awful for this country, or so many people would like me to believe. But we have real problems, and to those who are opposed to universal health care, what is the solution?

Health care is evil, but we can have as many guns as we like?!? I’d rather have the former, thank you very much.

Oh, I do have answers to my questions, but I just want to pose the questions first.

—–

Think Parks Canada would give an ex-pat an interpretive ranger position? I’m willing to relocate.

Leave a comment